ps classics - celebrating the heritage of broadway and american popular song
Catalog | Cast Recording | The Trumpet of the Swan: A Novel Symphony for Actors and Orchestra

Trumpet of the Swan CD Image

Get it on Amazon

Album Release Date:
 June 21, 2011

what the critics are saying

“A lushly scored work that will send you home with a helpless, contented smile on your face.”
–Washington Post

“A sweeping work that offers commentary with music. Beautiful and haunting music. Trumpet of the Swan is certainly no ugly duckling.”

“The richly orchestrated underscoring and interludes range from big symphonic themes to waltzy pop and swinging nightclub jazz, while the acting/narration draws vivid pictures in your mind.”
–The Philadelphia Daily News

“The recording features an incomparable cast of John Lithgow, Kathy Bates, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Mandy Moore, James Naughton and Martin Short in spoken roles, with Christopher Michael Venditi supplying the pivotal trumpet solos for Louis the Swan.”
–Chicago Stage Style

“A must entertainment for kids of all ages. A first class recorded entertainment from top to bottom and quite cinematic in scope as well. A winner.”
–Midwest Record


The Trumpet of the Swan
A Novel Symphony for Actors and Orchestra
by Jason Robert Brown and Marsha Norman

E. B. White’s timeless children’s novel THE TRUMPET OF THE SWAN is now a classic new work for a symphony orchestra, a genius young trumpet player, and six inspired actors. Commissioned by the Kennedy Center, this glorious and funny piece was created in an extraordinary collaboration between Marsha Norman, Pulitzer Prize- and Tony Award-winning playwright (The Secret Garden, The Color Purple, ’night Mother), and Tony Award-winning composer/lyricist Jason Robert Brown (Parade, The Last Five Years, Songs for a New World). At its world premiere performance in November of 2008, the headline of The Washington Post said, “Sublime Symphonic Swan Answers the Call of the Beguiled,” and the paper lauded the piece as a “lushly scored work” that will “send you home with a helpless, contented smile on your face.” Conducted by Jason Robert Brown, and orchestrated by Sam Davis, the all-star studio cast includes John Lithgow (The Sweet Smell of Success, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels, TV’s 3rd Rock from the Sun), Kathy Bates (Misery, TV’s Harry’s Law), Jesse Tyler Ferguson (The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee, TV’s Modern Family), superstar recording artist Mandy Moore, James Naughton (City Of Angels, Chicago) and Martin Short (Martin Short: Fame Becomes Me). Children and adults alike will delight in this story of Louis, the young swan who was born without a voice, but who, with the help of his courageous father, and a loyal boy named Sam, overcomes his adversities, learns to write and play the trumpet, and finds fame, fortune and true love in the big world.

track listing
  1. Prelude
  2. The Pond
  3. The Eggs & the Fox
  4. Cygnets
  5. Father & Son
  6. The Ranch
  7. Spelling & Serena
  8. A Mission to Billings
  9. Louis Learns to Play
  10. Camp
  11. Boston
  12. A Night at the Ritz
  13. Western Union
  14. Philadelphia Swing
  15. High Fashion & Low Prices
  16. Sunday Concerts & Storm
  17. Courtship
  18. The Head Man in Charge of Birds
  19. Sam to the Rescue
  20. Returns
  21. Finale

you might also like

Lauren Kennedy
Songs of Jason Robert Brown

A Year With Frog and Toad
Original Cast Recording

Captain Louie
World Premiere Recording

Magic Tree House: The Musical
World Premiere Recording

Love on a Summer Afternoon
Songs of Sam Davis
follow us on twitter join us on facebook

© 2020 PS Classics. All Rights Reserved. | New Releases | Catalog | Notes | About Us | Contact          Site Design by Mark Bakalor

new releases catalog notes from ps about us contact contact usps classics mailing listtwitter facebook