ps classics - celebrating the heritage of broadway and american popular song
Catalog | Cast Recording | NOËL AND COLE

Noel and Cole CD Image

Get it on Amazon

Album Release Date:
 February 26, 2013

from the liner notes:

Its fascinating, really, how much weve come to associate the two men with each other. In some ways, it makes perfect sense. Porter and Coward share a witheringly wry sensibility, an inveterate inclination toward the droll, and a decided penchant for the sophisticated, world-weary observation. Both men also relish in the risqu, and seem to revel in the possibility of slipping that well-turned double entendre past the dull-witted censor or self-appointed guardian of public morality.

–Christopher Caggiano



Cole Porter and Noël Coward were born on opposite sides of the Atlantic, but both won renown for their wit, sophistication, and memorable melodies.  NOËL AND COLE cleverly alternates songs by these two musical-theatre masters, as it compares and contrasts their views on show business, high society, civic pride, and of course, love and loss. Six Broadway and PS Classics favorites -- Sara Jean Ford (How To Succeed In Business Without Really Trying, PS Classics' Sweet Little Devil), Elizabeth Stanley (Encores’ Merrily We Roll Along, Million Dollar Quartet, Cry-Baby), Barbara Walsh (Falsettos, Big, Company), Philip Chaffin (PS Classics' When the Wind Blows South, plus studio cast recordings of Sweet Bye and Bye and Sweet Little Devil), Euan Morton (Sondheim on Sondheim, Taboo) and Matthew Scott (Sondheim on Sondheim and PS Classics' Jerome Kern: The Land Where the Good Songs Go) -- offer  unforgettable renditions of Porter standards like “Begin the Beguine,” “In The Still of the Night” and “I Concentrate on You,” and Coward classics such as “If Love Were All,” “Sail Away,” and “Mad About the Boy” -- all newly arranged by David Loud and orchestrated by Jason Carr.

Of this new album, Talkin' Broadway raved,"The next best thing to having been to a marvelous party with Nol Coward and Cole Porter on either side of you might just be Nol and Cole the CD." Naming it one of the top 10 vocal albums of 2013, they hailed it as "a real feast and a romp. Many of the writers' better-known pieces are on display, given top renditions by strong theatre singers, who've already made their marks with PS Classics' cast albums, including studio cast recreations, in recent years. Featuring some of the most accessible numbers from the work of the masters, this album can serve as an introductory overview for the uninitiated and a welcome revisit for fans, who'll find nice colors in these new coats of paint to the twin houses."

track listing
  1. Another Op'nin', Another Show / Why Must the Show Go On?
  2. I Concentrate on You
  3. Love for Sale / I'm a Gigolo
  4. Begin the Beguine
  5. Someday I'll Find You
  6. A Bar on the Piccola Marina
  7. Sail Away
  8. Let's Do It
  9. Mad About the Boy
  10. I Went to a Marvelous Party
  11. Make It Another Old Fashioned, Please
  12. I Went to a Marvelous Party 2
  13. If Love Were All
  14. In the Still of the Night
  15. I Went to a Marvelous Party 3
  16. Well, Did You Evah!
  17. Just One of Those Things
  18. So in Love
  19. It's All Right With Me
  20. Trio
  21. London Pride
  22. I Happen to Like New York
sound clips

you might also like

Jerome Kern: The Land Where the Good Songs Go

The Songs of Jerome Moross

Jule Styne in Hollywood

Philip Chaffin
Warm Spring Night
follow us on twitter join us on facebook

© 2017 PS Classics. All Rights Reserved. | Our Catalog | Notes | About Us | Contact          Site Design by Mark Bakalor

autographed CDs our catalog notes from ps about us contact contact usps classics mailing listtwitter facebook