ps classics - celebrating the heritage of broadway and american popular song
Catalog | Cast Recording | Follies

Follies key art

Get it on Amazon

Album Release Date:
 November 29, 2011

This is a two-disc set.

what the critics are saying

“PS Classics' spectacular new two-disc set now becomes the best aural representation of this Sondheim classic. Krasker's decision to include not only the complete score, but also key dialogue scenes of Goldman's razor-sharp book, provides more purposeful context for all the songs. The painstaking detail and vivid orchestral performance project Follies' ghostly, surreal atmosphere more persuasively than previous recordings.”
–Houston Chronicle

“This new recording leaps past the others to share first place [with the original cast recording]; what's more, if you do not have any recordings of the show, I'd suggest starting with this one.”

“This richly produced CD must top any [holiday] list. It’s the American musical at its peak, deserving a place of pride in any show music collection.”
–Stamford (CT) Times

“A real wonder! PS Classics have outdone themselves. This is the recording of Follies that Sondheim fans have waited decades for. ”
–Style Chicago

“Simply thrilling! An album that, more so than any of the other existing recordings, allows listeners to re-experience the heartbreaking collision of past and present that's at the core of the piece. It's a glorious recording that will hold a special place in music theater lovers' collections for years to come. ”

“One of the greatest of all theatre scores gets its fullest recording. The story of a crumbling theatre, a showgirls reunion, and the debris of two marriages all unites beautifully, and you don’t even have to see it to get it. Add this one to your collection if you love the musical theatre. ”
–Toronto Star

New Broadway Cast Recording

Composer-lyricist Stephen Sondheim and librettist James Goldman’s landmark 1971 musical returns to Broadway in a production The New York Times raved “[makes] you realize anew just why Follies is one of the greatest musicals ever written.” A bittersweet look at the follies of youth seen through the eyes of age and experience, this new production stars two-time Tony Award-winner Bernadette Peters as Sally Durant Plummer, four-time Tony Award-nominee Jan Maxwell as Phyllis Rogers Stone, two-time Tony Award-nominee Danny Burstein as Buddy Plummer, three-time Emmy Award-nominee Ron Raines as Benjamin Stone and four-time Olivier Award-nominee Elaine Paige as Carlotta Campion, under the direction of Eric Schaeffer. The cast of 41 is backed up by a 28-piece orchestra, conducted by James Moore. Now, PS Classics and producer Tommy Krasker – who has helmed over a dozen Sondheim cast recordings – preserve this unparalleled work of genius in an expansive two-disc set, complete with 52-page full-color booklet with essay, synopsis, lyrics, production photos and a brief note (below) from the album producer.

Click to read A Note From the Album Producer

On December 1, 2011, Tommy Krasker, co-producer of the new Follies album, offered to answer questions posted at Talkin' Broadway about the recording edition. Because we've received several requests for it, we're reprinting it here, but caution that his note is not intended as an overview of the recording edition, merely a response to specific questions that had been raised about elements that appear (or don't appear, as the case may be) on the album. Click here to read his responses.
sound clips

track listing

Disc One:
  1. Prologue
  2. Overture
  3. "Welcome to our first - and last - reunion..."
  4. Beautiful Girls
  5. "You came; you’re really here..."
  6. Don’t Look at Me
  7. "I never get to talk..."
  8. Waiting for the Girls Upstairs
  9. Rain on the Roof
  10. Ah, Paris!
  11. Broadway Baby
  12. The Road You Didn't Take
  13. "Bargains, Buddy..."
  14. In Buddy's Eyes
  15. "Let's dish. Tell me everything..."
  16. Who's That Woman?

Disc Two:
  1. "I had a Follies number once..."
  2. I'm Still Here
  3. Too Many Mornings
  4. The Right Girl
  5. "Men are so sweet..."
  6. One More Kiss
  7. "According to statistics..."
  8. Could I Leave You?
  9. "You'll make a good wife, Phyl..."
  10. Loveland
  11. You're Gonna Love Tomorrow / Love Will See Us Through
  12. The God-Why-Don't-You-Love-Me Blues
  13. Losing My Mind
  14. The Story of Lucy and Jessie
  15. Live, Laugh, Love
  16. Chaos
  17. End of Show

Listen to and download Jayne Houdyshell's solo version of "Broadway Baby" below:

you might also like

Sondheim on Sondheim
Original Broadway Cast

A Little Night Music
New Broadway Cast

Original Broadway Cast

Sunday in the Park With George
2006 London Cast

The Frogs
Original Broadway Cast

Pacific Overtures
New Broadway Cast
follow us on twitter join us on facebook

© 2017 PS Classics. All Rights Reserved. | Our Catalog | Notes | About Us | Contact          Site Design by Mark Bakalor

autographed CDs our catalog notes from ps about us contact contact usps classics mailing listtwitter facebook