ps classics - celebrating the heritage of broadway and american popular song
Catalog | Songbook | Sondheim Sings, Volume I

Sondheim Sings, Volume I CD Image

Get it on Amazon

Album Release Date:
 May 10, 2005

what the critics are saying

“Listening to this material, some of which is now classic, affords the opportunity to hear Sondheim songs in their newborn state, often before the umbilical cord has been cut. Stripped of orchestral finery, the songs have Broadway in their bones.”
–The New York Times

“A tour de force of theatrical wit and enthusiasm.”
–San Francisco Chronicle

“Fascinating.... These decades-old recordings are an eye-opener.... You'll hear some songs you know in a slightly different form, and the more you knew his work, the more curious you'll be. A surprising vulnerability and eagerness – and pure joy – are apparent.”
–Talkin' Broadway


Sondheim Sings, Volume I

SONDHEIM SINGS (Vol. I: 196272), the first in a series, utilizes the demos held in Stephen Sondheim's private collection, and consists of the Tony, Oscar, Grammy and Pulitzer Prize-winning composer-lyricist singing and playing songs from such shows as A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum, Anyone Can Whistle, Company, Follies and A Little Night Music, among others, all digitally remastered.

Volume I showcases some of his best-known songs as we're used to hearing them, but also includes early versions of several songs that were heavily revised after the demoes were recorded. There are cut songs as well, some of which were replaced by other songs that were replaced yet again!

track listing
  1. Love Is in the Air (cut from A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum, 1962)
  2. Pretty Little Picture (A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum)
  3. Truly Content (The World of Jules Feiffer, 1962)
  4. Multitudes of Amys (cut from Company, 1970)
  5. Miracle Song (Anyone Can Whistle, 1964)
  6. The Lame, the Halt and the Blind (cut from Anyone Can Whistle)
  7. The Glamorous Life (A Little Night Music, 1973)
  8. Everybody Ought to Have a Maid (A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum)
  9. Invocation (cut from A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum)
  10. Don't Look at Me (Follies, 1971)
  11. Pleasant Little Kingdom (cut from Follies)
  12. Everybody Says Don't (Anyone Can Whistle)
  13. Losing My Mind (Follies)
  14. Broadway Baby (Follies)
  15. Anyone Can Whistle (Anyone Can Whistle)
  16. A Hero Is Coming (cut from Anyone Can Whistle)
  17. No, Mary Ann (The Thing of It Is, unproduced, 1969)
  18. Marry Me a Little (cut from
  19. Send in the Clowns (A Little Night Music)

you might also like

Sondheim Sings
Volume II

Howard Sings Ashman
Songwriter Series

Jonathan Sings Larson
Songwriter Series
follow us on twitter join us on facebook

© 2017 PS Classics. All Rights Reserved. | Our Catalog | Notes | About Us | Contact          Site Design by Mark Bakalor

autographed CDs our catalog notes from ps about us contact contact usps classics mailing listtwitter facebook